July 06 2020
Asia Cup 2018: Gutsy Bangladesh sets up a summit clash with India
27 September 2018

Mushfiqur and Mithun bail the team out before its bowlers, led by Mustafizur, stifle Pakistan’s chase

Mushfiqur Rahim and Mohammad Mithun’s rescue act with the willow followed by an all-round display in the field meant Bangladesh stunned Pakistan by 37 runs to set up a final showdown versus India on Friday.

The duo’s 144-run partnership saw Bangladesh come out of a hole after being reduced to 12 for three in the fifth over and raise a respectable total of 239, despite Pakistan pacers hitting at the start and end of the innings in the final Super 4 game, a virtual semifinal, at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium.

Imam’s gritty knock

Opener Imam-ul-Haq played a valiant knock in the chase but just didn’t get support from the other end as Bangladesh restricted Pakistan to 202 for nine.

Pakistan required a decent start considering the total wasn’t above-par and the team had successfully chased down a target of 258 at the same venue earlier in the week. However, once it was reduced to 18 for three in the fourth over — with off-spinner Mehidy Hasan Miraz starting in the opening over and left-arm pacer Mustafizur Rahman taking over — Pakistan was always chasing.


Mustafizur... wrecker-in-chief

Mustafizur... wrecker-in-chief   | Photo Credit: AP


It was up to Imam, looking solid at one end, and the in-form Shoaib Malik to get Pakistan back into the game. However, Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza ended the stand with an outstanding catch at mid-wicket — diving full length to his left — in the 21st over to all but seal the fate of the match.

Earlier, thanks to Mushfiqur and Mithun’s stand for the fourth wicket, Bangladesh cantered to a total of 239 before being bowled out in the penultimate over.

Shakib injured

Missing the services of key all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, who was ruled out with a fractured finger on his left hand, wasn’t the only blow early on for Bangladesh.

Despite electing to bat, Junaid — making his maiden appearance in the tournament — and Afridi reduced it to 12 for three in the fifth over.

While Junaid surprised Soumya Sarkar with a short-ball, he and Afridi and produced brilliant deliveries to get through the defence of Liton Das and Mominul Haque.

Mushfiqur and Mithun then got into damage-control mode. They were aided by the fact that Hasan Ali, the first-change pacer, was a bit wayward early on. The duo ran so well between the wickets that the scoreboard never stagnated.

Even though Mithun perished soon after his fifty and Rahim missed his second hundred of the series by a solitary run, neither of them would have a reason to complain at the end of the day.


Bangladesh: Liton Das b Junaid 6 (16b), Soumya Sarkar c Zaman b Junaid 0 (5b), Mominul Haque b Afridi 5 (4b, 1x4), Mushfiqur Rahim c Sarfraz b Afridi 99 (116b, 9x4), Mohammad Mithun c & b Hasan 60 (84b, 4x4), Imrul Kayes lbw b Shadab 9 (10b, 1x4), Mahmudullah b Junaid 25 (31b, 1x4), Mehidy Hasan Miraz c sub b Junaid 12 (11b, 1x4), Mashrafe Mortaza c Zaman b Hasan 13 (13b, 1x6), Rubel Hossain run out 1 (3b), Mustafizur Rahman (not out) 0 (0b); Extras (lb-8, w-1): 9; Total (in 48.5 overs): 239.

Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Sarkar, 2.5 overs), 2-12 (Mominul, 3.5), 3-12 (Liton, 4.2), 4-156 (Mithun, 33.4), 5-167 (Kayes, 36.1), 6-197 (Mushfiqur, 41.4), 7-221 (Mehidy, 45.2), 8-230 (Mahmudullah, 47.3), 9-239 (Rubel, 48.4).

Pakistan bowling: Junaid 9-1-19-4, Afridi 10-1-47-2, Hasan 9.5-0-60-2, Nawaz 8-0-39-0, Malik 2-0-14-0, Shadab 10-0-52-1.

Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman c Rubel b Mehidy 1 (4b), Imam-ul-Haq st Liton b Mahmadullah 83 (105b, 2x4, 1x6), Babar Azam lbw b Mustafizur 1 (3b), Sarfraz Ahmed c Mushfiqur b Mustafizur 10 (7b, 2x4), Shoaib Malik c Mortaza b Rubel 30 (51b, 2x4), Shadab Khan c Liton b Sarkar 4 (24b), Asif Ali st Liton b Mehidy 31 (47b, 3x4), Mohammed Nawaz c sub b Mustafizur 8 (19b), Hasan Ali c Mortaza b Mustafizur 8 (11b, 1x4), Shaheen Shah Afridi (not out) 14 (20b, 1x6), Junaid Khan (not out) 3 (10b); Extras (b-1, lb-2, nb-1, w-5): 9; Total (for nine wkts. in 50 overs): 202.

Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Zaman, 0.5), 2-3 (Azam, 1.2), 3-18 (Sarfraz, 3.3), 4-85 (Malik, 20.1), 5-94 (Shadab, 25.1), 6-165 (Asif, 39.2), 7-167 (Imam, 40.5), 8-181 (Hasan, 43.5), 9-186 (Nawaz, 45.1).

Bangladesh bowling: Mehidy 10-1-28-2, Mustafizur 10-2-43-4, Mortaza 7-1-33-0, Rubel 8-0-38-1, Mahmadullah 10-0-38-1, Sarkar 5-0-19-1.

Toss: Bangladesh.



Related Stories