April 07 2020
Tamil Nadu in command as Dinesh Karthik
22 December 2011

Tamil Nadu, jet-propelled by K. Dinesh Karthik's substance-meets-style effort (156, 20x4, 1x6), held the aces for the second day in succession after it finished with a healthy 486 in its first innings against Madhya Pradesh in a Ranji Trophy Elite Group ‘B' match on Thursday. In reply, the visitor was staggering at 50 for three at stumps.

Madhya Pradesh's core batting group was dismantled easily by the stifling aggression of captain L. Balaji, V. Yomahesh, and J. Kaushik. Naman Ojha was the first to be eliminated when he was caught behind prodding at Balaji's out-swinger.

With runs coming at a trickle, another wicket added to Madhya Pradesh's misery. Kaushik's vicious in-swing accounted for Mohnish Mishra's furniture. Soon, debutant left-arm spinner Rahil Shah claimed his first wicket by nailing rival skipper Devendra Bundela leg-before.

Earlier, Madhya Pradesh began well with a wicket in the second over of the day. When R. Prasanna was trapped in-front by seamer Amarjeet Singh, the team would have contemplated an easy passage into the Tamil Nadu tail.

But Karthik produced an admirably resolute, yet daring, batting performance to expand the home side's advantage. His ramrod-straight drives and punches on the rise were impeccably conceived.

Yomahesh (34) was an able foil to Karthik in their 93-run partnership before the former succumbed to a cracking yorker from Ishwar Pandey.

Karthik made full use of a reprieve — a tough return catch was floored by Amarjeet when the batsman was on 89 — to make a big score. After his dismissal, some sturdy blows from Malolan Rangarajan, on debut, and Balaji escalated the score well beyond 400.

The scores:

Tamil Nadu — 1st innings: Abhinav Mukund c Jalaj Saxena b Amarjeet Singh 21, M. Vijay c Naman Ojha b Ishwar Pandey 83, M. Kaushik Gandhi b Rameez Khan 80, S. Badrinath c Zafar Ali b Amarjeet Singh 32, K. Dinesh Karthik b Ankit Sharma 156, R. Prasanna lbw b Ishwar Pandey 11, V. Yomahesh b Ishwar Pandey 34, Malolan Rangarajan c Ankit Sharma b Amarjeet Singh 28, L. Balaji lbw b Ankit Sharma 28, J. Kaushik c Amarjeet Singh b Ishwar Pandey 2, Rahil Shah (not out) 0; Extras (b-6, w-3, nb-2): 11. Total (in 153.1overs): 486.

Fall of wickets: 1-51, 2-139, 3-202, 4-255, 5-298, 6-391,7-452, 8-456, 9-484.

Madhya Pradesh bowling: Sudhindra 32-9-58-0, Pandey 39.1-8-123-4, Amarjeet 29-6-107-3, Ankit Sharma 19-2-73-2, Bundela 3-0-6-0, Murtaza 3-1-12-0, Jalaj Saxena 13-1-51-0, Ramiz 15-2-50-1.

Madhya Pradesh  1st innings: Zafar Ali (batting) 23, Naman Ojha c Dinesh Karthik b Balaji 0, Mohnish Mishra b J. Kaushik 5, Devendra Bundela lbw b Rahil Shah 8, Jalaj Saxena (batting) 3; Extras (b-5, lb-1, nb-5): 11; Total (for three wickets in 26 overs): 50.

Fall of wickets: 1- 6, 2-19, 3-36.

Tamil Nadu bowling: L. Balaji 5-2-7-1, J. Kaushik 7-4-12-1, Yomahesh 5-3-8-0, Rahil 6-5-3-1, Malolan 3-0-14-0.



Related Stories